The state of Georgia passed the Move Over Law to protect all drivers on the road, including police, from unnecessary harm. But what happens if you’re in an accident that involves this law? The answer is different than a typical accident on Georgia roads, and the consequences can be much higher. Here’s what you need to know if you or a loved one was in an accident involving the Georgia Move Over Law. Use this information as a guide, but also note that an experienced car accident lawyer can help you pursue the best action based on your situation.
What is the Georgia Move Over Law and Its Consequences?
Under the Georgia Move Over Law, all motorists driving in the lane next to the shoulder must move over one lane when emergency or utility vehicles are pulled over to the side of the highway for official reasons. These types of vehicles include:
- First responders like fire trucks, police vehicles, EMS, towing vehicles, and highway maintenance
- Department of Transportation (DOT) vehicles
- Utility vehicles
- Wreckers and Highway Emergency Response Operators (HERO) responding to an accident
The Move Over Law was passed in an attempt to remedy the large increase in responders like those listed above being killed by passing traffic during official stops. According to statistics from the FBI, more police officers are killed by traffic crashes than any other cause of death during their jobs—even more than shootings. And too emergency vehicles have been hit while parked beside Georgia highways, even when they have their emergency lights on. The Move Over Law law is meant to protect these officials as well as those they pull over and all others on Georgia roads.
If traffic is too heavy to move over when you see a pulled over emergency vehicle or officer, the law requires you to slow down below the speed limit and be ready to stop.
What happens if you get in an accident involving the Move Over Law?
Fines for violating the Move Over Law for a stationary authorized emergency vehicle can be up to $500 and is as high as thousands of dollars in other states. If the vehicle is a recovery or towing vehicle, highway maintenance, or utility service vehicle, the fine can be up to $250. In either case, you’ll also face court fees and three points on your license.
However, the risks of not obeying the Move Over Law are more serious than just fines—it could lead to significant pain and suffering, serious injuries, and even death for any of the people involved. If you were in an accident involving the Move Over Law, such as another driver hitting you after failing to move over, you’ll need help from a car accident lawyer who can fight for your case.
Our passionate attorneys are dedicated to advocating for accident victims in these types of situations. And we don’t charge you a dime unless we win you money. For a FREE consultation with one of our lawyers, call us today at 404-341-6555 or fill out the form to your right.