There are three main ways to get a police report for your accident in Georgia:
- You can pick it up in person from the law enforcement agency that investigated your accident.
- You can purchase the report online.
- You can have your personal injury lawyer obtain the report for you.
Whenever law enforcement authorities are called to the scene of an accident, they talk to drivers and any witnesses, observe the damage, and prepare an accident report. It usually takes about 3-5 business days before the report is available. The report serves as an objective account of what happened. It includes insurance information for both parties, and it will be an important part of any insurance claim for injuries or vehicle damage. If the police did not come to the scene of the accident, there will not be an accident report.
How can I get a police report online?
Police reports are available for download at the website buycrash.com, which sells accident reports for many states, including Georgia. You can order a report without knowing the name of the law enforcement agency that investigated the accident, but you will need the following:
- The last name of one of the drivers involved in the accident
- The date of the accident
- Either the VIN of one of the vehicles, the report number, or the driver’s license number of one of the drivers
If the report is available, you can download it for a fee of typically under $20. If it is not yet available, you can ask to be emailed when the report is ready.
How can I get a police report from local law enforcement?
If you prefer, you can get your accident report directly from the law enforcement agency that investigated your accident: either the police, the sheriff, or the Georgia State Patrol. Usually, the officer who responded will give you a business card showing the law enforcement agency’s name and sometimes the accident report number. If you are not sure which law enforcement agency prepared the report, you can find out by asking the various law enforcement agencies in the locality where your accident occurred.
- If the Georgia State Patrol investigated your accident, reports are available from the Patrol post that responded and prepared the report, or by faxing or mailing a written request to the Open Records Unit at the Department of Public Safety.
- If a city police department investigated your accident, you can usually pick up a copy of the report in person from the department’s records division. There is often a charge of approximately $5. Contact the police department directly for information specific to the city where your accident occurred.
- If a county sheriff’s office investigated your accident, you can obtain a report from the sheriff’s department, but the procedure for requesting and picking up a report can vary by county. Contact the sheriff’s office or visit their website to find out the proper procedure in the locality that investigated your accident.
A third alternative is to let an Atlanta Georgia car accident attorney take care of getting the accident report for you. This saves you time and lets you focus on recovering from your injuries, while your lawyer handles the legal details of your insurance claim.
Talk to an Atlanta car Accident Lawyer for Free
Our law firm has just one mission: to help injured people get the money they need to put their lives back together. If we don’t win money for you, we won’t charge you a cent. Let us give you a FREE consultation to help you understand the right next steps for your case—with no obligation. Call us at (404) 341-6555 or fill out the form to the right to get your free consultation today.