Drunk driving accidents are some of the most frustrating collisions happening on Tucker roads. Most of the time, fault falls completely on the intoxicated driver—leaving the victim(s) feeling helpless as they deal with the resulting pain, shock, and medical bills. Victims who were injured because of a drunk driver should never have to pay for the damage someone else caused. If you or a loved one was injured in a DUI accident, you deserve help getting back on your feet. Call a Tucker drunk driving accident lawyer today.
Our personal injury lawyers are solely dedicated to helping those who were injured in accidents get the money they need to cover their expenses and move on. For over twenty years, we’ve been assisting victims of drunk driving accidents in this way. We’re here to help, and we’ll even offer a FREE consultation to discuss your situation and how we can help. Don’t wait. Call us today at 404-341-6555 or complete the form to your right for your FREE consultation.
How much money can I recover if I was hit by a drunk driver?
If the drunk driver was at fault for the accident, according to the state of Georgia, you can recover for the full amount of damages caused by the driver. These costs can include:
- Medical bills for treatment of your injuries
- Prescription drugs
- Cost of physical damage to repair or replace your vehicle
- Lost wages from time you had to miss from work because of the accident and injuries
- Pain and suffering damages that coincide with your physical injuries
- Wrongful death if you lost a loved one in the drunk driving accident
In addition, drunk driving cases can include another form of financial recovery known as punitive damages. Punitive damages are solely meant to punish the drunk driving for choosing to get behind the wheel while compromised and endangering others on the road. Punitive damages can be very substantial in DUI cases, often worth as much as $100,000 in certain drunk driving situations. Your drunk driving accident lawyer can look at your specific case and help determine what your damages add up to.
I was the victim of a DUI hit-and-run. What should I do?
Getting hit unexpectedly by a drunk driver is shocking enough. It can feel especially frustrating if the drunk then flees the scene, leaving the victim to deal with the mess. Unfortunately, this isn’t uncommon since many DUI drivers will want to run from what they’ve done or not be in their right mind enough to stop. But you shouldn’t have to handle any expenses they’ve caused by hitting you and choosing to leave.
Leaving the scene of an accident and not reporting it is a very serious offense. In fact, its penalties can be even greater than the DUI accident itself. According to Georgia hit and run laws, the at-fault driver is required to stop, provide their information, and assist anyone injured in the accident. If the driver fails to do this and there wasn’t a serious injury or damage was caused to the victim’s vehicle, the driver can face a misdemeanor charge and up to 12 months in prison and a fine of $300-$1000. If the victim is seriously injured or someone dies from the DUI hit-and-run, the at-fault driver is guilty of a felony and faces 1-5 years in prison.
What you can do following a DUI hit-and-run.
- Look at any injuries suffered by you or others involved in the accident. If they require serious medical treatment, get it right away by calling 911. Make sure everyone is okay before moving on to the next step.
- If you can, move your vehicle to the side of the road and out of the way of moving traffic. You want to avoid getting hit again or impeding traffic that could cause another wreck.
- Once you’re safely out of the way, call local police right away. Make sure they take a police report, and tell them any relevant information you can remember from the drunk driving accident. This includes any identifying features of the DUI driver’s appearance, their vehicle, their license plate, etc. And tell them you suspect the other driver was drinking so they can investigate further. If you got a picture of their vehicle driving away, show police. Write down all details you can remember, especially if you think of additional details after police leave.
- Look for witnesses. Anyone who saw the accident can help attest that the driver hit you and ran. Get their names and phone numbers, and try to get them to stay until police arrive so they can make a statement.
- Get medical treatment for any injuries. Even if they weren’t bad enough to need immediate treatment, you should still see your doctor. This will create a record of your injuries and help prevent them from getting worse.
- Call a drunk driving accident lawyer. You’ll need to file an insurance claim with your insurance, and you want to ensure you’re offered the full amount to cover your damages from the DUI accident.
Talk to a Tucker Drunk Driving Accident Lawyer for Free
Don’t let the careless actions of a drunk driver leave you struggling to pay for what they caused. Get a good drunk driving accident lawyer who knows how to handle these types of cases. Our attorneys understand DUI cases and how serious they can be for the victims involved, and we know how to win cases in their favor. And we offer our clients a risk-free situation: we don’t get paid unless you get money. For a FREE consultation to talk about your drunk driving case and what we can do, call us today at 404-341-6555 or fill out the form to your right.